Philippines Today

Switch to desktop

Ai Ai, Eddie Garcia win top Cinemalaya acting awards

Rate this item
(0 votes)

(Photo from Philippine Star)


Singer, comedienne and actress Ai Ai delas Alas and veteran actor Eddie Garcia won the Best Actress and Best Actor trophies in the just concluded Cinemalaya 2018 festival.


Ai Ai got the award for her role as the co-leader of a syndicate victimizing children in “School Service.” The film’s director, Louie Ignacio, accepted the trophy on her behalf as she was taping her variety show, “Sunday Pinasaya” for GMA Network during the award ceremonies at the Cultural Center of the Philippines (CCP) Main Theater.


Eddie Garcia won for his role as the fragile-looking but beastly retired Colonel in the martial law-themed movie, “ML.”


It was gathered that the best actor award is the third award at the festival of Eddie, who is now 89. Festival records showed that Eddie first won a Cinemalaya Best Actor trophy in 2005 for “ICU Bed #7,” then in 2012 for “Bwakaw,” which won him the same honors at the 7th Asian Film Awards in Hong Kong.


Ketchup Eusebio was declared Best Supporting Actor for his role as loving son in “Mamang” while Therese Malvar won the Best Supporting Actress award for both roles in “Distance” and “School Service.”


Newcomer Che Espiritu won the Best Director award for “Pan De Salawal” whose story she wrote.


The  Best Film trophy went to  “Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon” directed by Carlo Enciso Catu, upsetting box-office leader and festival favorite “Liway,” which won the Audience Choice Award. “Kiko” won the Audience Choice Award for Short Features.


Winners of the technical awards were: Best Sound - “Musmos Na Sumibol Sa Gitna Ng Digma;” Best Musical Score - “Pan De Salawal;” Best Production Design - Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon; Best Editing - ML.


Best Cinematography and Best Screenplay went to “Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon;” while the Best Screenplay for Shorts Features was awarded to “Sa Iyang Isla.”


The Netpac (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) Awards were given to “Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon’ for Full-length and “Sa Iyang Isla” for Shorts.


Special Jury Awards winners were “Pan De Salawal” for Full-length and “Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah” for Shorts.


A Special Jury Commendation was handed to “Liway.”


Children who starred in the entries were also given Special Jury Award for Acting – Kenken Nuyad as Dakip in “Liway” and as one of the kid beggars in “School Service”; JM Salvado in “Musmos Na Sumibol Sa Gitna Ng Digma”; and Miel Espinosa for “Pan De Salawal.”


Other Shorts winners were “Jodilerks Dela Cruz, Employee of The Month” as Best Film; Xeph Suarez, Best Director for Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah.


Nespresso Awards were also given out:  Best Picture to “SLN;” “Braveheart,” 2nd Prize; and “Ako.”


The international-winning Mandaluyong Children’s Choir sang the Cinemalaya theme song at the start of the ceremonies.


Founder Antonio “Tonyboy” Conjuangco also graced the occasion along with CCP chairperson Margie Moran-Floirendo and other festival and center officials.


Here's a full list of winners:

  • Audience Choice Award (Short Feat): KIKO by Jojo Driz
  • Audience Choice Award (Full-length): LIWAY by Kip Oebanda
  • Best Sound (Full-length): WILDSOUND for Musmos na Sumibol sa Gubat ng Digma
  • Best Original Music Score (Full-length): LEN CALVO for Pan De Salawal
  • Best Production Design (Full-length): Marielle Hizon for Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon
  • Best Editing (Full-length): Mikael Pestano for ML
  • Best Cinematography (Full-length): NEIL DAZA for Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon
  • Best Screenplay (Short-Feature): SA SAIYANG ISLA by Christian Candelaria
  • Best Screenplay (Full-length): JOHN CARLO PACALA for Kung Paano Hinihintay Ang Dapithapon
  • Best Supporting Actor (Full-length): KETCHUP EUSEBIO for Mamang
  • Best Supporting Actress (Full-length): THERESE MALVAR for Distance and School Service
  • NETPAC Jury Award (Short Feature): SA SAIYANG ISLA by Christian Candelaria
  • NETPAC Jury Award (Full-length): KUNG PAANO HINIHINTAY ANG DAPITHAPON by Carlo Catu
  • Best Actor (Full-length): EDDIE GARCIA for ML
  • Best Actress (Full-length): AI-AI DELAS ALAS for School Service
  • Special Jury Award for Acting: KENKEN NUYAD for Liway and School Service, MIEL ESPINOSA for  Pan De Salawal, and JM Salvado for Musmos na Sumibol Sa Gubat ng Digma and Pan De Salawal
  • Special Jury Commendation: LIWAY by Kip Oebanda
  • Special Jury Award (Short Feature): SI ASTRI MAKA SI TAMBULAH by Xeph Suarez
  • Special Jury Award (Full-length): Pan De Salawal by Che Espiritu
  • Best Director (Short Feature): XEPH SUAREZ for Si Astri Maka Si Tambulah
  • Best Director (Full-length): CHE ESPIRITU for Pan De Salawal
  • Best Film (Short Feature): JODILERKS DELA CRUZ, EMPLOYEE OF THE MONTH by Carlo Francisco Manatad
  • Best Film (Full-length): KUNG PAANO HINIHINTAY ANG DAPITHAPON by Carlo Catu


Leave a comment

Make sure you enter the (*) required information where indicated. HTML code is not allowed.

Copyrighted for Philippines Today Tel: (650) 872-3200. Website developed by:

Top Desktop version